Florida Department of Corrections Banner, Secretary Mark S. Inch


April 06, 2022

ICYMI: Law enforcement supervisors graduate from Florida Leadership Academy

 Florida Leadership Academy Graduates

For Immediate Release
April 8, 2022

CRESTVIEW, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation of 34 first-line supervisors today from the Florida Leadership Academy, Class 50. These graduates serve in leadership roles representing 21 criminal justice agencies throughout the state.

The graduates met for four week-long sessions at the Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office in Crestview, Florida. They learned skills necessary to support the needs of their agencies and their communities as they prepare for future challenges.

The goal of the Florida Leadership Academy is to prepare first-line supervisors in criminal justice organizations to exemplify the character and integrity expected of criminal justice professionals and to examine the various components necessary to being an efficient leader.

The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, which is housed within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals.

For Further Information Contact:
FDLE Office of Public Information
(850) 410-7001

Florida Leadership Academy Class 50 Graduates:

Scott T. Angulo Tallahassee Police Department
Shawnesci Skye Barber Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office
Luke Blackburn Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Todd Boger St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office
Merle Douglas Burkhart Escambia County Sheriff’s Office
Timothy Cardinal Edgewood Police Department
Justin Castro Santa Rosa County Sheriff’s Office
Christopher Collins St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office
Jennifer Sanderson Davis Polk County Sheriff’s Office
Alex D. JuDon Miami Gardens Police Department
Peter Kamau Escambia County Sheriff’s Office
Anthony J. Kelly Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Mac MacCargar Florida Department of Corrections
Jarrod T. Molnar Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission
Jason Moore Florida Highway Patrol
William Noonan Seminole County Sheriff’s Office
Mattison Prowant Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission
Sterling Eslinger Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Branden J. Findley Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office
Katherine Gomez Florida Department of Juvenile Justice
Ashley N. Griffin Escambia County Corrections
Michael J. Guy Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission
Katelin Lee Hallford Escambia County Corrections
William Hallford Escambia County Corrections
Roy Hay Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Chase Horne Escambia County Sheriff’s Office
Byron C. Rawles Crestview Police Department
Cody N. Ray Florida Department of Corrections
Danielle Rubio Nassau County Sheriff’s Office
Christopher M. Shuman Bay County Sheriff’s Office
Michael Tolson Bradenton Police Department
E. Jared Turner Bay County Sheriff’s Office
Jason A. Velazquez Collier County Sheriff’s Office
Douglas Watts Marion County Sheriff’s Office


As Florida's largest state agency, and the third largest state prison system in the country, FDC employs 24,000 members, incarcerates 80,000 inmates and supervises nearly 146,000 offenders in the community.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.
Inspiring success by transforming one life at a time.
Visit our website at http://www.dc.state.fl.us.