Florida Department of Corrections Banner, Secretary Mark S. Inch


November 23, 2021

Contact: FDC Communications
(850) 488-0420

Law enforcement supervisors graduate from Florida Leadership Academy

For Immediate Release

November 19, 2021

Florida Leadership Academy
FDC is proud to recognize Correctional Probation Supervisors Sahira Torres and Beth Poffel who, along with 39 other LEOs, graduated from the FDLE Leadership Academy. Over the course of four weeks, these supervisors were provided leadership training to hone their skills to succeed as leaders in their profession. Great job!!!

TAMPA, Fla. – The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute announces the graduation of 41 first-line supervisors today from the Florida Leadership Academy, Class 49. These graduates serve in leadership roles representing 35 criminal justice agencies throughout the state.

The graduates met for four weeklong sessions at the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office in Tampa, Florida. They learned skills necessary to support the needs of their agencies and their communities as they prepare for future challenges.

The goal of the Florida Leadership Academy is to prepare first-line supervisors in criminal justice organizations to exemplify the character and integrity expected of criminal justice professionals and to examine the various components necessary to being an efficient leader.

The Florida Criminal Justice Executive Institute, which is housed within the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and affiliated with the State University System, was established in 1990 by the Florida Legislature to address the need for an innovative and multi-faceted approach to the education and training of criminal justice professionals.

For Further Information Contact:

FDLE Office of Public Information

(850) 410-7001

Florida Leadership Academy Class 49 Graduates:

Audrey Adams Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office

Ben Birge Pasco County Sheriff’s Office

Joleen Bowman Pinellas County Sheriff's Office

Terrence Brown Indian River County Sheriff’s Office

Matthew Campion Cape Coral Police Department

Matt Carter Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

Roy Cole Sebastian Police Department

Jim Couch Tallahassee Police Department

Daniel Cruz St. Petersburg Police Department

Thomas Davis Osceola County Corrections Department

Shannon DePew Putnam County Sheriff's Office

Jason Franjesevic Pinellas County Sheriff's Office

Roy Galarza Volusia County Sheriff's Office

Josh Haimes Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

Roger Hall Coconut Creek Police Department

Dan Hannah Miami-Dade Police Department

Brandon Hartz Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

Latasha Henderson Sarasota County Sheriff's Office

Roberto Hernandez Florida Department of Law Enforcement

Joseph Hersey Polk County Sheriff's Office

Ryan Hilsdon St Petersburg Police Department

Eric Larson Marion County Sheriff’s Office

Dana Levine Miami Gardens Police Department

Tabitha Lewis Walton County Sheriff’s Office

Jacob Meyer Florida Highway Patrol

Jennifer Mongosa New Smyrna Beach Police Department

Alesha Morel Fort Myers Police Department

Michael Parker Highlands County Sheriff's Office

Beth Poffel Florida Department of Corrections

Mike Puka Collier County Sheriff’s Office

Anthony Rosas Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission

Chris Ryan Pinellas Park Police Department

Melissa Scruggs Escambia County Sheriff's Office

John Sessa Florida Highway Patrol

John Shea Pinellas Park Police Department

Ryan Shipes Lynn Haven Police Department

William Strickland Bay County Sheriff’s Office

Omar Torres Orange County Corrections Department

Sahira Torres Florida Department of Corrections Probation & Parole

David Wainright Zephyrhills Police Department

Kyle Worthington Seminole County Sheriff’s Office


As Florida's largest state agency, and the third largest state prison system in the country, FDC employs 24,000 members, incarcerates 80,000 inmates and supervises nearly 146,000 offenders in the community.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.
Inspiring success by transforming one life at a time.
Visit our website at http://www.dc.state.fl.us.